Our first Halloween as Ex-Muslims

pumpkins 2014

If you follow this blog, you may have realized at some point that I was Muslim until this July. We had a family meeting and decided it wasn’t for us, so my children and I set out on an adventure to live life and investigate our spirituality outside of religion. It’s been awesome.

I’m going to put myself out here…I don’t know how to do the majority of American holidays even though I’m an American. Muslims are not allowed to participate in any extent. I had to rely on extremely early childhood memories with my mom and Google. Maybe a little Pinterest.

Long story short, I think I might have made some stuff up. You’re probably really surprised (sarcasm). But let me tell you, not nearly as surprised as I was when my uncarved pumpkin got stolen. See those pumpkins up there? I got THAT right! I may or may not have put that BFA to good use (and if you want to get good at pumpkin carving, why not get your own BFA for a mere 50k? lame.) My advanced technique came from years of gutting pumpkins for their seeds and to cook their flesh down to freeze.

pumpkin seeds 2014

Now, ok, pumpkin carving was simple enough. But there is no single teal pumpkin project that could have solved the needs of my trick or treating family. My daughter can’t have dairy, and my son can’t have nuts, gluten, or dairy. Wow, right? Nope. Because my kids don’t know that OTHER kids bring home pillow cases full of candy, and were perfectly happy to fork over a handful of things they couldn’t have in exchange for these treat bags. I tried to keep it minimalist and buy a few consumables, but also some quality little presents that wouldn’t be broken in a few days. We ended up going trick or treating at the local mall because I didn’t want my kids bringing home too much candy AND because the thought of groping around in the dark in a town we’ve only lived in for 9mos seemed exceedingly unsafe.

treat bags halloween 2014

All I did was make some hemmed sacks and tied some ribbon.

And I took the leftover fabric to make these bean bags full of rice to replace the metal trains they throw at eachother for “fun”.

bean bags 2014

carmen treat bag 2014This one was for my daughter who is in 6th grade, and the one below is for my son who is in preschool.

abe treat bag 2014

I also tried a new tradition of making caramel apples, since the kind at the store aren’t dairy free. My son wouldn’t eat them because of his sensory issues, but my daughter had one and really liked it. I think they were better than crack and at the remaining FIVE. That’s right. The recipe came from one of my favorite blogs, Nourishing Minimalism, and I cheated a bit and used my hands to mold the caramel on a little better.

apples halloween 2014

Last but not least, we made our costumes as much as we could. I went a little wild at our local box store and got the accessories, but each child was allowed to pick what they wanted to be. My oldest wanted to be an ANGEL KITTY and my son? A FAIRY. Yup. A fairy. Good Lord, was I EVER prepared for the rash of gender grooming homophobic idiocy to proceed my sheepish announcement to inquiring minds, but you know what? Not a single damn word. Is it my ever growing gray hair and permanent growl, or is it that maybe the world is becoming more progressive? I don’t know, don’t care, but here it is:

cj halloween 2014

Carmen made this costume from a leopard tunic she owned, and brown leggins, and I bought a pack of kitty accessories and angel accessories. I used hypoallergenic face pencils and spritzed her all over with spray glitter.

abe halloween 2014Yes, and the caption to that one is “Argh! I’m a FAIRY!” Abe’s costume was a little more straight forward. Black wings, and a glowstick wand. I bought a shirt that was 2 sizes too big to make it like a tunic, and cut the sleeves off, causing them to be belled. I also hit it with spray glitter. The belt is just felt with leaves sewn on and some velcro to keep it closed. He wore knit pants underneath, and let me write a little on his face.

Gotta love these kids. And that’s a wrap- that’s how we navigated Halloween. Next up….Christmas! (phew, this one will be complicated….)

5 thoughts on “Our first Halloween as Ex-Muslims

  1. You did a great job!
    More than we did (we forgot pumpkins this year), and I’ve done Halloween all my life.
    Adorable costumes and your bags are darling!

  2. That’s obviously a male fairy, so I see no need for anyone to be getting their gender roles in a bunch!

    We have an Advent tradition that perhaps you could make less overtly Christian and use as a way of building up to Christmas: We write our good deeds, and kind things other people have done for us, on strips of yellow paper and collect this “straw” in the center of our Nativity scene to make a soft bed for baby Jesus. When we set up the scene at the beginning of Advent, Jesus and the angel are up on the bookcase while all the other figures are on the table; on Christmas Eve, the angel comes down to “Earth” bringing Jesus to his bed. Maybe you could come up with a different scenario that’s a reason to write down good deeds and watch them pile up. I find it very inspiring!

Leave a Reply

