Hot porridge three ways

IMG_7321

This is a continuation of my “oats are evil” rant. For more on that, see this post.

The long and the short of it is, I have avenin sensitive enteropathy from my Celiac disease, and I abstain from oats because they make me really ill. That being said, I have had to work out a lot of “oat” substitutions, because oats are a great source of protein and whole grain in a vegan diet.

I have tried a lot of rice and hot cereals, but by far, my favorite is Bob’s Redmill Mighty Tasty Hot cereal (my mom SWEARS by Arrowhead Mill’s Rice and Shine Original). Bob’s, however, is made of brown rice, corn, buckwheat, and amaranth, which I appreciate because it adds diversity to my diet and they’re whole grains.

This porridge is really versatile and is perfect for THIS Irish girl in cold, damp, Maine springs. I’ve made it two ways here, but the possibilities are as numerous as oatmeal. I think though, that the difference you’ll find is that oatmeal has more of a wheat like flavor, and the corn in this makes it a bit more buttery tasting.

Begin by making this porridge as directed. You bring 3 1/4 cup water to a boil, then stir in your porridge. Whisk it. Then, you will add your additional ingredients before turning down the heat and covering it to simmer.

For pink berry porridge, add 1-2c mixed berries (we get a frozen package at the dollar store that is just strawberries, black berries, and raspberries), 1tsp vanilla extract, and 1/4c maple syrup. You can add a pinch of cardamom to this if you’re feeling jazzy. Stir in well before covering.

For peach porridge, add 1-2c sliced peaches, either fresh or frozen, 1/4-1/2c maple syrup (the peaches aren’t as sweet as the berries), 2tsp vanilla, and a few liberal dashes of cinnamon.

For blueberry porridge, add 1-2c fresh or frozen blueberries, 1tsp vanilla, 1/4c maple syrup, a few liberal dashes of cinnamon and a pinch of ginger, or 1/4tsp lemon zest.

Enjoy!

IMG_7322

Leave a Reply

