Vegan Stuffed Peppers

IMG_7240

You’re going to begin to notice that many of my upcoming recipes are…rich. Not just nutrient dense, but tipping the caloric scale a bit. This is related to my previous post about how I am struggling with an anxiety based eating disorder. Since I’m aware that this need isn’t prevalent in the majority of people’s diets, I will post an accommodation alongside the more dense components in the recipe.

These, my friends, are the best stuffed peppers I’ve ever had.

And that’s saying something, considering I’ve had my grandmother’s homemade peppers, moose-meat peppers, and dare I even admit, microwave stuffed peppers from the freezer section. They don’t even TOUCH these babies!

A lot of people stuff theirs with quinoa, but quinoa gives me slamming headaches, and I’m trying to problem solve that. So these were stuffed with rice. I’m sure brown rice would work great, but I went all out and got that nice starchy basmati rice. I have a thing for basmati rice- so much so that I usually get a 25lb bag twice a year.

You’re going to love these!

Here’s what you’ll need:

Both a red and orange bell pepper, diced

4 large green peppers, tops cut off, de-seeded and trimmed inside

a large amount of white mushrooms diced- I’d say about 8 or 10, go wild

a medium sized onion, diced

a 15 or so ounce can of regular tomato sauce

salt and pepper to taste

1/2-1tsp garlic powder to taste

oil or vegetable broth

3-4c cooked rice of choice

3/4-1c shredded cheddar Daiya cheese (or nutritional yeast)

vegan parmesan cheese (optional)

IMG_7227Preheat your oven to 400.

In a large skillet, heat enough oil or broth to coat the diced orange and red peppers, mushrooms, and onion. Cook on medium high until the onions are transparent and the peppers and mushrooms are soft. If you’re cooking with broth, the method is to continuously cook off the broth and add more. Do this about 3-4 times or until things are cooked. Everything should be a bit browned. Don’t ever cook stuff like this on high because it won’t cook evenly and you’ll have peppers that are browned on the outside and not soft.

IMG_7231

Remove the skillet from the heat and stir in the garlic powder. Add your 3-4c rice next. Try first adding about 3c and stirring it with the veggies to see if it’s the ratio that you like. Then add the can of tomato sauce and your cheese shreds or nutritional yeast. Stir until well combined.

IMG_7232

Stand your peppers up in a dish that can be covered with a lid or tin foil. Stuff the peppers and pack them with the spoon so there’s no gaps inside. Once all the peppers are full, put a small amount of water, about 1/2in, in the bottom of the dish, without pouring it over the peppers. This will make the peppers soft but prevent them from burning on the bottom of your pan. Cover the stuffed peppers with the lid of the pan or tin foil and bake for about 40min. After 40min, take them out, sprinkle the parmesan on top, and bake for another 10min uncovered.

IMG_7233

I split these open to serve them because they take forever to cool. Enjoy!

IMG_7235

IMG_7239

Leave a Reply

