Garden Pasta Salad

IMG_6851

I made this for the Independence Day cookout I attended this weekend with my family. Turns out it’s a hit!

Before I begin explaining how to make this, you should know that it was a happy accident. I don’t buy Italian dressing because it usually has oil, red pepper flakes, sulfur, and sometimes anchovies. If you like all of those things, by all means, skip a few steps here.

If you’re repulsed by those things, here is how I began, by making an Italian spice blend that I smashed in a mortar and pestle.

1teaspoon each:

Basil

Oregano

Thyme

Parlsey

Garlic powder

Onion powder

1/4tsp pepper

1/4tsp poultry season

1tsp rosemary

To make the Italian dressing for this dish, mix about 1/8c of the spice mix with:

1teaspoon Dijon

a heavy squirt of agave or about a teaspoon of fine sugar (agave is better)

a few more dashes of onion and garlic

4 tablespoons white vinegar

2 tablespoons white rice vinegar (or 2T apple cider vinegar)

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

Blend well and set aside.

In a large bowl, dice a large cucumber, large tomato, and large green pepper into equal sized pieces. You can also add 2-4 peeled and grated carrots.

IMG_6847

Add about 1/3 to 1/2 cup olives.

IMG_6848

Boil a bag of Tinyada pasta. They make tri-colored pasta that is great and colorful which would be ideal, but any type except spaghetti would work. Do NOT make the pasta al-dente. Cook it as directed. The reason is because as the pasta sits, it dries out, despite being in dressing. When the pasta is done, rinse it really well with cold water.

In a large bowl, combine it with your dressing and veges. Stir well, and let sit overnight before serving, turning every so often.

IMG_6849

EcoKidsTuesdays

2 thoughts on “Garden Pasta Salad

  1. This sounds great! I love pasta salads. I don’t understand why so many people (and salad bars) think they need to put crumbled cheese or chunks of pepperoni in them–in my opinion those interfere with the flavor. My family often eats pasta salad as a main dish by mixing in nutritional yeast flakes (they dissolve in the oil–I’m not sure if they are gluten-free?) and sunflower seeds for protein.

    I nominated you for a Liebster Award!

    This post is a month old–I hope you’re okay! Maybe you’re just enjoying summer away from the screen.

Leave a Reply

