Perfect Gluten Free Vegan Sourdough Bread

IMG_6496

White looking bread that’s good for you? SHUT THE FRONT DOOR!

Oh yes. It is gluten free fermented deliciousness.

How did I do it? Why, I hijacked someone else’s recipe of course!

Admittedly, I had never done this. The thought of something fermenting on my counter for half a week, and then eating it, REALLY grossed me out. But I loved sourdough bread, and it was just too tempting. I’ve been making yogurt, sourdough bread, and soaking grains, all in the name of advanced gut-healing. I can honestly say, this is one area that I will concede with Sally Fallon- we really should be soaking our grains.

But this post today is about SOURDOUGH! Would you like to know how? Of course you would! Here ya go!

Sourdough starter:

The first step to making sourdough is to ferment a starter. Don’t worry- it doesn’t spoil, it bubble and brews.

You’ll need-

1T active dry yeast (two packages)

1c soy milk (it ferments better- I’d recommend abstaining from rice milk because it doesn’t ferment well, but nut or coconut milk would work)

1c white rice flour (some people use sweet rice flour, which is different)

1tsp raw sugar

Set your milk on the counter, covered, until it reaches room temp. In a quart jar, dissolve your yeast in the milk. It was recommended to use a wooden spoon, and I’m not sure why, but I used a wooden spoon instead of metal. Add your flour and sugar and stir to combine. REST (not close) your lid on the jar and allow it to stay at room temp. After a few hours, you’ll notice separation and bubbles- give it a stir and let it sit overnight. Stir it every day for 2-3 days, leaving it on the counter with the lid rested on top. After a few days, you can put it in the fridge if you’re not going to use it.

When you’re ready to use it, plan ahead at least 4hrs. I fed mine the day before I wanted to use it. You have to “feed” the yeast before using it. This is done by stirring it first. Then remove a cup of it and set it aside for another time or discard. Add 1/2c of 100 degree water and 1c rice flour. Stir it to combine and let it sit covered for 4hrs or overnight. You can replenish leftover started by feeding it.

IMG_6498

Now the bread!

You’ll need:

1.5c brown rice flour

3/4c potato starch

3/4 tapioca starch

2tsp xanthan gum

1/4tsp cream of tartar

1/4c sugar

1.5 tsp sea salt

2tsp active dry yeast (1 pkg)

1c sourdough starter

3T unsweetened applesauce

1.5c water at 100 degrees

IMG_6500

Grease your loaf pan and preheat your oven to 400.

Mix everything together by mixing the dry, then the wet. Put it in your mixer with dough hooks and beat 4-6 minutes on medium. Put it in your pan and smooth the top with wet hands. Cover it with a clean towel and let it rise 40 minutes. Cook for 40-45min until the top is golden and firm.

Let this cool a few minutes before removing it so your top doesn’t cave it. After a few, put it on a bakers rack to cool so the bottom doesn’t get soggy. Store in a sealed container. I don’t recommend storing bread in the refrigerator because it causes it to go stale quicker.

IMG_6501

allergyfreewed1

9 thoughts on “Perfect Gluten Free Vegan Sourdough Bread

  1. Do you know if you can create a wild starter with rice flour? It might be interesting to try. I would leave out the milk if I were doing that, since it would spoil at room temperature. Using your recipe, this wasn’t a problem because you added enough yeast to out-compete any bacteria involved with spoilage.
    ~The Homesteading Hippy

  2. This looks wonderful :). Cheers for sharing. I am going to be working on making real edible sourdough over our coming winter period. I am going to start with this recipe 🙂

  3. Thank you so much for this recipe and your entire blog, really. It’s very well done and very useful. I’ve really enjoyed browsing, and I hope you keep writing. I enjoyed the book post, as well. I have a similar problem in my own shelves and my daughter’s. You have given me the “go organize and get rid of the excess” bug for our books. We have entirely too many, and the clutter of the extras is keeping us from easily finding and enjoying the books we would actually be using.

  4. Pingback: 2013 Gift Roundup | Kate's Apartmentsteading

Leave a Reply

