Hot vegan samiches

IMG_6415

People ask me sometimes how I manage to be gluten free AND vegan. The truth is, it takes a lot of planning, and even a reasonable amount of effort. As I grow, I realize what dietary habits are left in the dust, and one of them is my love of sandwiches. Where I don’t eat fake meat (because it’s unhealthy and contains gluten), I’m left with pb&j, or an avocado tomato sandwich with balsamic vinaigrette.

This leaves me with very little motivation to bake bread. I bought these Schar rolls, and though they were dry, they fit the bill. Previously I was into my own bread, or even my own english muffins. If you’re a bread person, I recommend you try this recipe for english muffins.

This is originally called a vegetarian sub, as it is usually made with provolone cheese. Don’t eat cheese. End of story.

Nope, this beauty is made with baby belle mushrooms, alfalfa sprouts, homemade dill pickles, and jacked cheese by Daiya (it comes in a little wheel).

daiya_Lg

I began by slicing the mushrooms and sauteing them, which can be done with a little oil or a little water (add little bits of water, let it boil out, then add more, and repeat 3-4x’s until they’re sauteed).

When they’re nearly done, I slice cheese out on top of them. There’s not measurement here, just use your best judgement.

On the roll arrange some alfalfa sprouts and pickles, and then spoon your cheesy mushroom mixture over them. You’re done!

This can be a bit messy, so if you’re feeding it to children, consider giving it to them in a sub roll or a hollowed out bun.

IMG_6413

Leave a Reply

