Growing seedlings for next to nothing

IMG_6411

Ya you’re seeing that right. And yes, that’s a unicorn.

Those are my seedlings. The growing schedule is delayed in Maine, so all that’s in there is basil, kale, and lettuce. I’m container gardening this year.

To me, it’s not entirely economical to garden if you’re spending a fortune on supplies. Yes, seeds are well worth the investment. But if you’re growing them to save money in groceries, think about your costs.

For seedcups, I put some potting soil (not seed starter- it shocks the plants when you switch them to potting soil) in toilet paper tubes after folding the bottoms. I was careful to plant my seeds according to the depths on the package, covering them accordingly and watering them until water came out of the bottoms of the cups.

seed cups

Then I pried apart the lid from some salad greens plastic container my mother had given me. I put the seed cups on the lid of the tray (inverted) because the lid has an impossible-to-remove sticker. I poked holes in the bottom of the salad container for air, and put it inverted over the seed cups. This makes a tiny greenhouse. Be careful to label your seeds as soon as you plant them.

IMG_6388

IMG_6389

IMG_6391

If you’re starting seeds indoors, you’re going to need a grow light. They have these for $7 at home depot.

IMG_6386

And wallah- you have a beautiful mini greenhouse!

IMG_6412

When the seeds are mature, you can plant in coffee cans, milk jugs, clementine boxes, old plastic storage bins, and other recycled containers. The cost is incredibly minimal this way. Later on down the line, you can add your own compost as fertilizer to the plants as they mature.

farmgirl

4 thoughts on “Growing seedlings for next to nothing

  1. Thanks for a GREAT, informative post! I’ve wondered about container gardening and the details of how to do it. We have no land, and I cannot be in the sun for medical reasons – so the outdoor sort is not possible. But I’d love to have some fresh veggies growing in the house : )

  2. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting!

    I quite enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.

    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back sometime
    soon. I want to encourage continue your great posts,
    have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

