Not-cho-mama’s Spaghetti Sauce

spaghetti 1

I hate jarred spaghetti sauce. I have tried probably two dozen, and I’ve just decided that it’s disgusting and I hate it.

That is my juvenile rant on food that I hate.

I decided to make my own. It’s embarrassing to admit how long it took me to reach that epiphany, but I suppose that I thought it was too hard. It’s not- it actually takes about 20-30min, depending on how much love you want to give it. Feel free to let this cook all day in a crockpot. I added nooch to make it cheesy. This ain’t yo mama’s sauce recipe!

Here’s what you’ll need:

A diced onion

2-3 cloves grated garlic

1t oregano

1t basil

1/8-1/4c nutritional yeast

salt to taste

oil

1qt tomatoes (I used home canned with the juice, but store bought is ok)

1 can tomato sauce (approx. 1c, and this is actually optional, but the sauce will be less dense)

2c (or one can drained) chickpeas (if you’re using dry, make sure they’re softened already, which can be accomplished by soaking and boiling)

Heat a few tablespoons of oil in the skillet. Add your onion and brown over medium high. When it starts to become transparent, add the garlic for a minute or two (careful not to burn it). Add your oregano and basil for a minute or so, then salt. Add your tomatoes and break them up, and sauce, then give it a stir. Add your beans. Stir them in, turn the heat down to medium low and cover halfway. Cook for about half an hour, or until the sauce is fragrant.

Serve over brown rice pasta.

spaghetti 2

Leave a Reply

