Quick and Easy No-Chicken Noodle Soup

IMG_6182

I never know what to make for lunch. I usually end up making some type of soup or sandwich when it’s cold, and cold plates with biscuits or crackers when it’s warm. Today it was unseasonably warm- a good 46. It’s been below zero for over a week, so we welcomed it, but the damp air seemed to get to my bones. I wanted something nourishing and hot.

I often make this soup when I’m ill as well. Not only does it provide the nutrients for healing, but it’s also one of the most simple dishes (besides spaghetti) that I make.

Here’s what you’ll need:

8c water

4 cubes Not-Chicken boullion (faux chicken bouillons are readily available at most healthfood stores and does NOT contain harmful additives like artificial flavor or MSG)

1 bag mixed frozen veges (ours has corn, green beans, carrots, and peas)

1/2 bag or more of Tinkyada pasta (I prefer shells or elbows)

1 large bay leaf

1 celery stalk chopped fine

1/4c parsley dried

Put everything in a pot and bring to a boil. Turn the heat down to medium high, and cook until the pasta is tender.

That’s really everything! I know that other folks like Happy Herbivore like to add chickpeas or white beans, which is a great addition of protein.

Leave a Reply

