Raspberry Thumprint Cookies (gluten free and vegan)

IMG_6171

When I was a kid, I used to eat these cookies by Archway that were soft and had a raspberry filling. Then as an adult, one of my girlfriends gave me a recipe for a similar cookie called “fat me up cookies”. But both of those contain gluten, so I was delighted when I tried this recipe and it came out just right.

I think the best part about this recipe is that it’s made with whole ingredients and it takes nearly no time. I whipped up 3 dozen of these in half an hour. The original recipe can be found in the Flying Apron cookbook, though I did adapt it. I did a review of the cookbook here.

To begin, you’re going to need:

2.5c brown rice flour

1.5c garbanzo bean flour

1tsp baking powder

1/2tsp baking soda

3/4tsp sea salt

1tsp vanilla extract

1c coconut oil softened (the original recipe calls for canola and I don’t recommend that)

1c evaporated cane sugar (I can imagine that maple sugar would also work)

1c soy milk (alternative milks are fine)

approx. 8oz raspberry preserve (or other store bought low-sugar preserve)

Preheat your oven to 375.

Combine your dry ingredients (flours, baking powder and soda, salt and sugar).

In a separate bowl, combine your wet ingredients (oil, vanilla, and milk).

Combine your wet and dry ingredients with a spoon. Gently fold over with your hands (do NOT compress the dough- simply fold it to combine) repeatedly until well mixed. The book originally calls for a paddle mixer for 3min.

Shape the dough into small balls (I used a cookie scoop) the size of ping pong balls. Press them in the center with your thumb, smoothing the edges so they’re not terribly cracked. Fill the hole with jam.

Bake about 13-15min until golden and firm. When taken out of the oven, let cool slightly, then transfer to a cooling rack.

IMG_6169

6 thoughts on “Raspberry Thumprint Cookies (gluten free and vegan)

  1. Thanks for this gluten free version of thumbprint cookies! I use to make the recipe in the Betty Crocker Cooki Book. Found you thru the Selfsufficient Homeacre.

Leave a Reply

