Enchurrito Casserole: I Heart Mexican Food

 

I love Mexican food but it does not love me. This dish is not low fat, but that’s not why it’s heartburn-inducing. By my Yankee standards, this dish packs a fiery punch. I call it enchurrito because I was informed that enchiladas don’t include beans, just cheesy tortillas. Not cool. Gimme some beans!

I came up with this because I had a fibro-flairup and I wanted something quick. I hope that explains the ingredients.

You’ll need:

1 can Amy’s refried beans (obviously you can make your own, but these are quick, easy, vegan, and gf)

corn tortillas (you can make your own like I do, but it’s a very careful art that is not for beginners)

1 15oz can tomato sauce (I felt that enchilada sauce would be too much)

1 package Daiya cheddar shreds

1 package Daiya pepperjack shreds

a 13×9

 

Preheat your oven to 375.

Break up your tortillas into pieces and line the pan with them to create a base layer.

Then layer the casserole like lasagna: Add refried beans, sauce, then cheese. Add another layer of tortilla pieces and repeat. If you have enough, add a third layer. Then finally, for the top, add another layer of tortilla, sauce, and cheese.
Bake for about half an hour. You’ll know when it’s done because you’ll see it bubbling around the edges and the cheese will be melted. It will look like this:

 

 

Leave a Reply

