Vegan crockpot chili

I made chili for my birthday. Because I’m spicy. HA!

I heart my crockpot because it doesn’t require very much work or dishes. This is a very basic crockpot chili recipe.

If you have hard water like we do here, you’ll need to add 1/4-1/2tsp of baking soda and/or liberal sea salt in order to cook beans that are not from a can.

If you choose to use dry beans, give them a soak overnight.

You’ll need:

A green pepper

2 celery stalks

2Tbsp or more chili powder

2 quarts of plain tomatoes (I use the ones that I usually have on hand, which are home-canned tomatoes, but you can buy them in a can, just get whole tomatoes with no spice)

2-3 cans of beans or 1-1.5lbs dried beans (in this recipe I used soaked small black beans and red kidney beans)- be sure to drain any water or bean juice

salt and pepper to taste

half an onion (optional- omitting this is fine, or you can even saute it before putting it in the crockpot)

First chop your green pepper, celery stalks, and onion if necessary.

Then add all of the ingredients to your crock pot. Stir it up.

Turn the crockpot on high and cook it until the beans are soft.

Sometimes I add random veges to this mix- like carrots, summer squash, zucchini, other bell peppers, or corn.

Leave a Reply

