My favorite stir fry recipe

With all the scare of arsenic lately, it might seem sort of ridiculous to consider eating it as heavily as I do, but I’m not scared.

Don’t get me wrong- arsenic is a really horrible toxin, and it’s not something to fool around with, but my point is that we must wade through the fear mongering. Remember that our media feeds on sensationalism. Arsenic is naturally occurring in many foods, but the arsenic that they’re worried about in rice is from early pest control on cotton crops. Arsenic was used as a pesticide before the chemical cocktails were available. Unfortunately, it still lingers in the soil, and it gets into the plants. Brown rice is considered worse because it’s in-tact. Many companies are testing their rice now, but it’s still recommended that we don’t eat more than one or two servings a week.

This would be devastating to my diet. And guess what? There’s a loophole! I bet you would never guess that there would be a day that food from India and Pakistan would be safer than food in the US, right? Wrong. Because Indians and Pakistanis have always known that throwing toxic chemicals on your crops would eventually come back to bite you in the butt. And therefore, their rice is safe. So safe, that it’s not even on the charts in comparison to rice from the US. The arsenic in it is naturally occurring.

Phew. So LET THEM EAT RICE! Just make sure it’s imported.

I keep a pot of rice in the fridge so I can eat it any time during the day. My favorite is Basmati and it also comes in long-grain brown.

I make loads of stir fry. Sometimes I steam veges, sometimes I make different types of sauce using a combination of brown sugar, apricot preserves or pineapple, and soy sauce. In this instance, I keep it simple. You’re going to need a large skillet.

I put a tablespoon or two of olive oil in the pan, but you can put a bit of water if you’re oil free. Then I add my non-leafy veges. I add:

shitake mushrooms

red bell pepper

yellow bell pepper

broccoli

onion slivers (optional- I skip these because of allergies)

Then I turn the heat on medium high. While the pan is heating up, I chop up an entire bunch of bok choy and half of a head of nappa cabbage.

I put it on top of the other veges like this. Don’t worry- I know it looks ridiculous, but just trust the process.

After the veges underneath start to cook and brown, I start turning the stir fry. When everything can be stirred well, I add a heavy few splashes of gluten free tamari (soy sauce).

I keep turning it every so often.

Eventually, all of the veges are soft, and it’s time to put it over rice. Bam…stir fry 🙂

2 thoughts on “My favorite stir fry recipe

    • There’s speculation that boiling off some of the arsenic leaches some of it out (like when you boil veges, it leaks the nutrients into the water) but in order for that to work, you’d have to put twice as much water as required for steam/boil cooking methods. Rinsing the rice isn’t effective because the arsenic is in the rice, not on the rice. It is sucked up through the soil. White rice is less concentrated than brown rice because a portion of it has been removed. Just like the nutrients densely held in the shell of the rice, arsenic is held there as well. I strongly advocate the washing or rice in any event, even organic rice, because imported rice in particular is often placed on the ground.

Leave a Reply

