Gluten free vegan pumpkin muffins

Imagine my irritation when I looked for a recipe like this and discovered numerous posts…and all of them listed “gluten free all purpose flour”.

Don’t give me that! I want the MOUTH FEEL and the FLAVOR of a muffin- not some generic mix meant for pizza, biscuits, cookies, or pie crust. No- it doesn’t happen in the gluten world, and it sure as hell isn’t happening in mine.

What do I do when I encounter such irritation? I adapt a recipe. Today I’m re-visiting Rebecca Reilly’s cookbook, Gluten free Baking. 

If you haven’t bought this book already, get it simply for the muffins! Her mix is easy, but I use the combination she recommends specifically- 2c brown rice, 2/3 potato starch, 1/3c tapioca. You’ll have extra- set it aside.

This is actually her recipe for Pumpkin Bread, adapted to be healthy, and she recommends that it makes 12 muffins.

Mix your dry:

1 3/4 cup the above all purpose mix (don’t sub this with other mixes because you’ll regret it)

1tsp baking soda

1tsp xanthan gum

1/2tsp cinnamon

1/4tsp baking powder

1/4tsp cloves

1/8tsp nutmeg (I omitted this because of allergies)

dash of ginger

1 1/3c packed light brown sugar (squish all the lumps)

 

Mix all of that. You can add 1/2c of walnuts and 1/2c chocolate chips if you want to make it into harvest bread, but we use these for morning snack, and my kid can’t have walnuts, so we omitted that idea.

 

Mix wet ingredients separately:

1/3c unsweetened applesauce

1c pumpkin puree

1/3c soy milk (or other milk)

2 flax gel eggs (2T flax meal, with 6T boiling hot water, let sit 5min until gel-y)

 

Mix the wet and dry together. I whisk my ingredients- I can’t be bothered to break out the mixer. The instructions are much more complicated for mixing, but this worked fine. The only thing I recommend is that if you’re using applesauce instead of butter like I recommended, you may want to skip the muffin papers and go with a ceramic muffin pan or grease a metal one. Cook these at 350 for 15-20min.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Gluten free vegan pumpkin muffins

  1. I love that you posted this. HUGE THANK YOUS! My pumpkin recipes are from pre-egg-allergy days and was about to go on the hunt.

  2. We made these and they were very, very good. We made them free of refined sugar too by subbing coconut sugar for the light brown sugar (same amount). Sweetness was perfect. So were the spices. Our only other difference was that we used coconut milk beverage (So Delicious). Muffins were a tiny bit gummy (maybe addition of guar gum in milk bvg?) & more on the heavy side…typical GF stuff. Took closer to 20 mins to bake. Had it on the side of my salad with tuna & avocado for dinner, but for bfast, they sure would taste good with some nut butter on them! Thanks so much!

    • That’s so awesome, thank you for posting that, as a lot of my readers can’t have cane sugar. Some people are surprised to learn that in many recipes, you don’t really need gums, so you could actually omit the xanthan. That’s especially true for this recipe since it has both pumpkin AND applesauce.

  3. Pingback: Apple crisp sans gluten | Kate's Apartmentsteading

Leave a Reply

