It’s a muffin, I swear.

Ok, so I’m not the world’s best food photographer- but let’s be real, I took this with one hand while I shoved muffin in my mouth with the other.

I present to you, Flying Apron’s Dark Chocolate Muffins.

That’s right- go ahead, baby, because they’re a BREAKFAST FOOD. This is up for interpretation obviously, as they do have quite a bit of sweetener, but they have nuts, fruit, and bean flour, so that’s good enough for me!

These are not only gluten free and vegan, but they are free of refined sugar and refined flours. They also don’t use xanthan gum, so they can be made “corn-free”. I also like that this recipe is adaptable in a few different ways.  Without further delay, here is the recipe, by Jennifer Katzinger of Flying Apron.

3/4c sifted garbanzo bean or chestnut flour

1 1/3c sifted cocoa powder

1 3/4c brown rice flour

1.5tsp sea salt

1T baking soda

1c canola oil (I used coconut, and she mentions that other oils are fine as well)

2c water

1c maple syrup

1c raspberries (opt.)

3/4 chopped nuts (opt.- I used chopped almonds)

1/2c chopped vegan dark chocolate (opt.- Dagoba has some amazing chips)

Preheat your oven to 375.

Combine your dry ingredients. In a separate bowl whisk your wet ingredients. It’s recommended in the book that you use a mixer with a whisk attachment and combine the wet, then add the flour mixture on low. I just whisked my wet into my dry and called it a night 😉

Work quickly- these have limited rising power apparently. I used 1/3c of batter in each of the muffin cups and it made two dozen, though the recipe says it makes 18 (with a higher batter ratio obviously). I had my raspberries, chocolate chips and nuts all mixed together in a third bowl, and the book recommends that you drop that mixture right on top of the muffins once they’re poured into the tins. Bake them until they’re firm, about 25min.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

