No, really, a Shampoo Bar.

I used to have hair down to my waist. It was fabulous. But then after I had my son, it was witchy and gross. I decided to throw more chemicals on it. Surprisingly enough, your shampoo is part of that aforementioned chemical shit storm that you should be avoiding. Why? Well here are some reasons:

  • This is a list of toxic and carcinogenic chemicals commonly found in shampoo. They were too numerous to list in this blog. If you don’t like this source, Google the ingredients in your shampoo bottle and read up on them. Here are the ingredients in my old shampoo:

DI water (aqua), disodium laureth sulfosuccinate, sodium c14-16, olefin sulfonate, cocamidopropyl betaine, cocamidopropyl hydroxysultaine, dimethicone copolyol, cocamide DEA, glycol distearate, dydrolyzed keratin, theobroma cocoa seed (cocoa) butter, parfum, cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, persea gratissima (avodcado) oil, aloe barbadensis (aloe) leaf extract, panthenol, polyquaternium 11, DMDM Hydantoin, cetyl alcohol, guarhydroxypropyltrimonium cholorid, PEG-23M, Ci 42090 (Blue 1), CI 116035) (Red 40), CI 19140 (Yellow 5), Coumarin

What…are those?

  • They come in plastic. Plastic rapes the planet. If you don’t believe me, Google Pacific Garbage Patch. Here’s an inspiring picture, since your plastic shampoo bottle will probably not be reused (for more on the myth behind “recycling”, watch “Bag It”). Aside from polluting the planet, plastic is made from fossil fuels, which are not sustainable (we WILL run out), cause pollution from getting the oil (Google fracking), and plastic production polluting.

  • Shampoo is bad for your hair. Ever wonder why we need shampoo and what would happen if you stopped using it? Here’s a hint: Try to go without conditioner. No? Why not? Oh, because your hair will be so “dried out” that it will literally be a haystack, breaking into bits? I think that’s an indication that you’re putting toxic waste on your head. Despite what you’ll read by chemical marketers and pro-shampooists on the internet, shampoo is liquid detergent. It’s made to clean out dirt, sebum (the oils on your scalp), and other particles you pick up over the day. But the concept of shampoo has gone a little bit out of sorts- shampoo completely strips away your hair’s natural oils, which leaves it dry and susceptible to damage. No problem, right? We have conditioner! Well, conditioner is just a bunch of oil- to replace your natural oils- and silicone particles that build up around your hair shaft. Imagine how pretty and Barbie-like your hair would be if it were made completely of silicone!  That’s what shampoo and conditioner do to your hair. It’s a house of cards.

Now I’m going to talk to you about my very brave adventures in hair detoxing. I’m allergic to life, and have tried a LOT of hair solutions that would keep me away from crap. Good thing I’m not vain *chuckles*.

The first was no-poo (no shampoo). It’s literally baking soda and water with a vinegar and water rinse. The detox process takes FOREVER and I smelled like a pickle.

Then I tried a clay shampoo. It was VERY expensive. I’m sure it would have worked eventually, but after 4mos, I gave up.

I went back to shit.

Then finally, I came across J. R. Liggetts shampoo bars. I had tried the Burt’s Bee’s shampoo bar way back when, and was horribly disappointed, so I was a bit skeptical. But within 3 days, I noticed my hair started to detox. It became SO SOFT.

And then it got ugly.

I’m laughing out loud because when your hair detoxes, some really weird stuff happens. First, your hair is really light and fluffy. Then it gets ashy. Then it gets greasy like a teenager. Then it’s soft, but waxy. And FINALLY…you hit the sweet spot. The shit COMES OFF. I’m about 2wks in. Angels are singing- do you hear them?

But EW. Look at this comb. This…is what came off of my hair, and I have to tell you- never before have I seen this stuff come off my hair in this amount. It’s waxy and nasty and it’s all chemical crap. How do I know? IT STILL SMELLS LIKE MY OLD SHAMPOO! (I know what you’re thinking- but this brush was cleaned when I started using the bar) When my hair is done shedding chemicals, I’m going straight to my bamboo brush, which will distribute the natural oils on my hair better from scalp to end. YOU may actually see this on your combs and brushes now- which is an indication that you also have buildup coming off of your hair. My mother says, “That’s why they make clarifying shampoos.” Gross.

As I mentioned before in this post, shampoo isn’t supposed to strip your hair of it’s natural oils. It’s just supposed to help get the dirt and dust out from walking around in our polluted air. A shampoo bar does just that, a lot like bar soap does.

What you’re looking at is NOT sebum. It’s silicone and chemicals. You don’t need this for your hair to look beautiful. Trust me.

6 thoughts on “No, really, a Shampoo Bar.

  1. I agree with you Kate. I make my own “poo” with a baby formula Castile soap. Haven’t had to “condition” it in over two years. My hair is so much healthier and stronger and the added benefit, my add is better without the chemicals. Nice post!

    • Hi Lisa,

      I buy nature’s gate shampoo & conditioner, and just recently purchased kiss my face shampoo & conditioner. I’ve been thinking about making my own shampoo with the castile soap but an nervous to. Can you post your recipe please?

      • Nature’s Gate is actually toxic crap, no offense. You should check out the ingredients with a quick google search. To use castile soap for shampoo, simple dilute some Dr. Bronner’s liquid. You can order conditioner by Dr. Bronner’s as well online.

      • Thanks! Maybe I’ll give it a try! Also, I just found your blog, but I really like all your tips and ideas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

