Healthy Gluten free Vegan Cornbread

We had a giant moon this week. Supposedly it was some type of blueberry moon, but honestly, it looked just like this.

I’m so tired of gross gluten free corn bread. I think I’ve tried a half dozen recipes and they all sucked. The closest I’ve found was this one by Gluten free Girl, but it’s not vegan. I also have been looking to cut back on the refined fats too, which made finding a good recipe challenging because most cornbreads are made with some type of sour cream, yogurt, or butter.

I’m also horrible at making my own recipes- I’m a freakin genius when it comes to adapting them for allergies, but I admittedly have not mastered the weights of gluten free flours to be proficient in developing my own baked goods. And I haven’t the time! This time around, I decided to abandon my multitudes of crappy cornbread recipes, and go back to the recipe I used before I became gluten free vegan. No sense in re-inventing the wheel.

I still have a LOT of my old cookbooks and I’m a really big fan of the classics. For this recipe, I pulled out my Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook, copyright 1962 right here in the good ‘ole U.S. of A.

The recipe is for Perfect Cornbread. It’s SO SIMPLE, and it was nice and fluffy when I mixed it up. I could have used all-purpose flour, like Bob’s Redmill, or even Reilly’s mix, but I wasn’t in the mood to be fussy (and didn’t have any on hand), and the beans were almost ready, so I took a lesson from Flying Apron and fudged some ratios on rice and bean flours. When you use garbanzo bean flour, you rarely need to use xanthan gum. I ran to the store to get some polenta, and imagine my pleasant surprise to learn that Bob’s has ORGANIC polenta now!
This is a big deal to me- I have a mild corn sensitivity, which means that I have to be really careful about my corn consumption. Remember that corn is majorly at risk of being GMO in this country. One day I’m going to try to make corn-free “cornbread” using almond meal, but that’s not today!

Here is my adapted recipe for Perfect Corn Bread by Better Homes and Gardens:

1c sifted all-purpose flour (try 3/4c brown rice and 1/4c garbanzo)

1/4c organic vegan sugar

4tsp baking powder

3/4tsp salt

1c polenta (yellow corn meal)

2 flax meal eggs (boil some water in the micro, and in a bowl mix 2T ground flax meal with 6T boiling water and let sit 5min)

1c organic soy or nut milk (the heavier milks work best)

1/4c unsweetened applesauce (or palm shortening)

Preheat your oven to 425.

In a bowl, combine your dry ingredients and mix. In a separate bowl, mix your “eggs”, milk, and applesauce and whisk them together. Add them to the dry, and whisk until well incorporated and the batter is fluffy. It’s best not to use a mixer for this recipe because it’s easy to overmix and then it will get dry. Pour into a glass 9×9 or a round glass baking dish (using glass eliminates the need to grease the pan, but you can use a greased metal pan). Cook for 20-25min until golden at the edges. Let cool slightly before serving to let the bread set.

This bread is also mild enough to have for breakfast with a little bit of jam. I warm mine up in a skillet (sometimes with some Earth’s Balance if I’m feeling devious), and top with homemade strawberry jam.

One thought on “Healthy Gluten free Vegan Cornbread

  1. Pingback: Vegetarian Crockpot Yankee Beans (and protein myths) | Kate's Apartmentsteading

Leave a Reply

